Munro, Iftikhar help Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by eight wickets


ABU DHABI: Colin Munro and Iftikhar Ahmed smashed .. runs together to help Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by eight wickets in the 22nd game of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6. 

Munro and Iftikhar scored the highest third-wicket partnership of 150 runs in the PSL.

The duo struck 17 boundaries and seven sixes altogether in United’s successful run-chase in 18.4 overs.

While batting first, Kings’ opener Babar Azam partnered strongly with Najibullah Zadran as they helped their team post 190-4 in 20 overs.

Sent into bat first, the Kings got the support of Babar and Zadran who scored 117 runs together. Kings were under a bit of pressure after losing Martin Guptill and being reduced to 63-2 in 7 overs.

But, Babar and Najib took the whole responsibility and set the tone for Kings to fire-power the opponents. Babar scored 81 runs off 54 balls spread over seven boundaries and three sixes.

Najib remained not out for 71. His inning included five boundaries and four sixes. Earlier, Sharjeel supported Babar as an opener as they scored 37 runs together. Sharjeel got out after a quick start and scoring 25 off 17 laced with two sixes and a boundary.

In reply, United lost a couple of wickets earlier before the Munro-Iftikhar show. Iftikhar was promoted up the order and he made the most of this opportunity. They scored 150 off 80 balls to hand a convincing win to two-times PSL champion.

Munro remained not out for 72 (41) alongside Iftikhar 71 (39). Usman Khuwaja and Mohammad Ikhaq managed to score 12 and 1 run respectively. 

Kings’ marred by drop catches and expensive overs bowled by the bowlers. Only Waqas Maqsood and Abbas Afridi took the wickets for the men in blue.


Islamabad United won the toss and decided to bowl first 


Karachi Kings: Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Martin Guptill, Chadwick Walton, Najibullah Zadran, Thisara Perera, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas, Arshad Iqbal, Waqas Maqsood Mohammad Amir

Islamabad United: Colin Munro, Usman Khuwaja, Shadab Khan, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Muhammad Ikhlaq, Hasan Ali, Ali Khan, Mohammad Waseem Jr, Akif Javed