Awais Zia’s 92 leads Balochistan to emphatic win over KP


Rawalpindi: Opener Awais Zia smashed 92* to lead Balochistan to an emphatic six-wicket win over Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the 17th match of the National T20 Cup.

The 34-year-old Awais paired with Akbar-ur-Rehman and added an 88-run stand for the fifth wicket after last year runners-up were struggling on 68-4 while chasing 155.

Earlier, Balochistan’s bowlers restricted KP to 154/6 and didn’t allow their batsmen to play their shots.

KP lost captain Mohammad Rizwan (5) in the third-over. Fakhar Zaman batted at a strike-rate of 100. He departed after scoring 34-ball 33.

Veteran batsman Shoaib Malik resisted from one end to guide KP to a respectable score. He made 74 in 44 deliveries which included eight fours and two sixes. Sahibzada Farhan made 12 while Wahab Riaz scored 7.

For Balochistan, Akif Javed bowled economically as he finished with figures of 2-20 in his four overs. Umar Gul, Khurram Shehzad, Yasir Shah and Amad Butt took a wicket each.

Balochistan set to chase 155, lost Abdul Wahid Bangalzai in the first over. The leading wicket-taker of the competition Shaheen Afridi sent him back to the pavilion. He later removed Bismillah Khan in his second over.

Left-hander Awais Zia secured one end and batted at a higher rate. Imran Butt (9) and Haris Sohail (1) lost their wickets in quick succession.

Awais took the charge in the ninth over where he smashed three boundaries off left-arm spinner Asif Afridi. They chased the target in the 17th over.

Awais hit 10 fours and quartet sixes and remained unbeaten. Akbar made 24* off 23 balls. Shaheen bagged two while Wahab Riaz and Arshad Iqbal took one. For his match-winning knock of 92, Awais was awarded player of the match.