Rizwan shines with maiden T20I century as Pakistan takes 1-0 lead in series


Lahore: Mohammad Rizwan dominated with his maiden T20I century as Pakistan beat South Africa by three runs in the series opener and took a 1-0 lead.

Rizwan was on song despite losing wickets at the other end after regular intervals. His magnificent knock included six boundaries and seven towering sixes.

Set to chase 170 runs, South Africa were off to a strong start with openers Janneman Malan and Reeza Hendricks scoring 53 runs together. But, the wicket of Malan gave Pakistani bowlers a chance to grip the game and they made the most of it.

Hendricks fought well till the end but a flying run-out effort from Rizwan sent him back home. He scored 54 runs with the help of eight boundaries.

Dwaine Pretorius (15*) and Bjorn Fortuin (17*) resisted a bit in the last but couldn’t make it possible for South Africa to win this game. They both scored 27 runs together with a fighting 15 runs in the last over.

Haris Rauf and Usman Qadir bagged two wickets each while Faheem Ashraf took a wicket.

Earlier, Pakistan suffered a collapse in the first inning after losing an early wicket of skipper Babar Azam who got run-out in the first over. Haider Ali was caught in the sixth over when Pakistan were 37-1. He scored 21 off 16 balls with the help of three sixes.

Pakistan scored 43-2 in the powerplay with Rizwan and Hussain Talat at the crease. Talat was deceived by Tabraiz Shamsi in the 10th over and got stumped after scoring 15 with the help of two boundaries.

Thereafter, Rizwan didn’t look back and kept the scoreboard ticking. On the last ball of the 11th over, he raised the bat for scoring maiden T20I fifty but his mood looked different.

He helped Pakistan score 22 runs in the last two overs to set a 170-run target for South Africa.

Andile Phehlukwayo took two wickets while Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Bjorn Fortuin bagged a wicket each for visitors.

Toss: South Africa wins, decides to field first


Pakistan:  Babar Azam (capt), Haider Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Usman Qadir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf

South Africa: Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Jacques Snyman, Heinrich Klaasen (capt &wk), David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Junior Dala, Lutho Sipamla 11 Tabraiz Shamsi