Zimbabwe win Super Over contest to beat Pakistan in third ODI


Rawalpindi: Blessing Muzarabani conceded just two runs in Super Over as Zimbabwe beat Pakistan in third ODI to finish the series on a winning note at Pindi Stadium on Tuesday. 

Pakistan were right on the track to seal the series 3-0 until Babar Azam stayed at the crease by scoring his 12th ODI hundred. As soon as Babar departed in the 49th over, Pakistan suffered pressure with 13 runs needed off the last over.


Mohammad Musa struck two fours in the last over to somehow equalize the scores (278-9) and the match went into super over. Iftikhar Ahmed and Khusdhil Shah were sent into bat for Pakistan in an over-a-side contest and they both managed to score just a run together before getting out two balls to spare.

14th ranked Zimbabwe easily chased the target in three balls to avoid a clean sweep.

Earlier, Babar rescued Pakistan from 88-5 and partnered with Khushdil Shah (33) and Wahab Riaz (52) to bring Pakistan back in the game.

Babar scored run-a-ball 125 and partnered with Khushdil to score 63 runs together whereas his partnership of 100 runs with Wahab was the highlight of the match. It was Wahab’s third ODI fifty which included three fours and as many boundaries.


Muzarabani was pick of the bowlers for Zimbabwe as the right-handed bowler bagged five wickets for 49 runs.

While batting first, Zimbabwe was led by Sean Williams’s century as they posted 278-6. Williams remained unbeaten at 119 after taking charge of his team suffering at 22/3 in 7.2 overs. In his 135-ball inning, he smacked 13 fours and a six.

Pakistan-born Sikandar Raza played a cameo of 36-ball 45 while Brendan Taylor made 56. Wesley Madhavere made 33.


The visitors lost their two quick wickets inside four overs with Mohammad Hasnain making a dream comeback by bowling two wicket-maiden overs.

In the 8th over, Hasnain removed Brain Chari (9). Taylor and Williams then posted a crucial 84-run stand for the fourth wicket. Taylor registered his 39th half-century, powered by eight fours.

Hasnain finished with figures of 5/26 while Wahab Riaz picked one wicket.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (capt), Haider Ali, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa, Shaheen Afridi

Zimbabwe: Brian Chari, Chamu Chibhabha (capt), Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor (wk), Sean Williams, Wesley Madhevere, Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chisoro, Donald Tiripano, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani