Pakistan down West Indies in second T 20I by 82 runs

Pakistan finish with 205-3, their highest ever total in T 20I

KARACHI: Pakistan have won the toss and elected to bat first against West Indies in the second T20I at National Stadium Karachi.

“Pitch looks good, we will try to put a lengthy total on the scoreboard,” Sarfraz said after winning the toss.

On the other hand Windies Captain, Jason Mohammad feels that his team will make a strong comeback.

“It was unfortunate for us last night, especially our batting collapsed badly but no worries its a new day and we will try to come back strongly,” Jason said.

Batting first, Fakhar Zaman lost his wicket early in the second over on Emrit’s delivery.

Hussain Talat and Babar Azam took Pakistan off to a flier after losing the first wicket. In ten overs, Pakistan scored 90 runs as both played a responsible inning.

Wonderboy Hussain Talat scored his maiden T20I half-century, he made 63 off 41 balls, while Babar Azam played an extraordinary inning scoring 97 off 58 deliveries.

In the fifteenth over, Asif Ali decided to go all guns blazing as they had enough number of wickets in hand with big hitters like Faheem Ashraf and Shoaib Malik still in the dugout.

Pakistan ended with their highest T20I total of 205/3.

Fielding had been a big mess by the visitors with a number of miss-field and an easy catch of Babar Azam was dropped by Samuel Badree.

Pakistan now becomes the first team to score above 180 runs in four consecutive matches.

In reply, Windies batting collapsed at 123 runs as none of them helped their team to score big against green shirts lethal bowling attack.

Pakistan won the match by 82 runs, with that defeat, Pakistan took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, rendering Tuesday’s final match a dead rubber.

Pakistan won the first match by 143 runs on Sunday. The final T20I is on Tuesday, also in Karachi.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali

West Indies: Chadwick Walton, Andre Fletcher, Marlon Samuels, Jason Mohammed (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Rayad Emrit, Kesrick Williams, Samuel Badree, Odean Smith