Zimbabwe outclass Pakistan by 20 runs in second T20I


Harare: Zimbabwe has created history as they just thrashed Pakistan by 20 runs in the second T20I of the three-match series at Harare Sports Club

It is for the first time Zimbabwe has defeated Pakistan in this format. The series is now level at 1-1 with the last match to be played on April 25.

Earlier, Zimbabwe didn’t get the momentum going after Green Shirts’ skipper Babar Azam opted to field first. They only managed to score 25 runs in the powerplay and lost captain Brendon Taylor for just 5.

Tinashe Kamunhukamwe and Tadiwanashe Marumani partnered for second wicket and added 28 runs. After that, the hosts lost wickets in regular intervals.

Kamunhukamwe scored 34 off 40 balls while Wesley Madhevere scored 16. Tarisai Musakanda (13), Regis Chakabva (18)were the other notable scorers.

For Pakistan, Mohammad Hasnain and Danish Aziz bagged two wickets each while Faheem Ashraf, Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir and Haris Rauf claimed a wicket each.

Similar to Zimbabwe, Pakistan couldn’t had the best of the start in powerplay with losing their star performer Mohammad Rizwan (13) in the sixth over.

Following Rizwan’s dismissal, Fakhar Zaman (2) was the next one to depart as he tried to loft one but it went straight into the hands of fielder.

Veteran Mohammad Hafeez once again failed as his poor run on continues as he scored five off 10 balls.

Green shirts had the expectations from skipper Babar who batted throughout and stabilized one end but he lost his wicket while going for a big shot as run-rate kept creeping. He scored 41 off 45 balls with the help of five boundaries.

Pakistan pinned their hopes on emerging middle-order batter Danish Aziz do hand them win but it was too much for him till the last. The 25-year-old 22 off 24 balls.

The wickets went crumbling till the end with no other batter dominating Zimbabwe bowler. Green Shirts were bowled out for 99 in 19.5 overs. For Zimbabwe, Luke Jognwe bagged four wickets for 18 runs with Ryan Burl took 2/21 in four overs.