Cadmore dominates with fifty as Peshawar Zalmi gets first win in PSL 6


KARACHI: Tom Cadmore smashed 53 runs as Peshawar Zalmi wrapped up first win by six wickets against Quetta Gladiators in Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6. 

Haider Ali and Shoaib Malik completed the job for Zalmi by charging bowlers in the end with 34-runs match-winning partnership.

Earlier, James Vince was on the song with his blissful knock as Multan Sultans set Peshawar Zalmi to chase 194 runs.

Vince looked dominant with firepower as Zalmi bowlers suffered immense pressure. The right-handed batsman struck 84 runs off 55 balls with the help of nine boundaries and three sixes as Sultans posted 193-4 in 20 overs.

Earlier, Vince partnered with Rizwan to put Multan Sultans in driving seat in 10 overs. They both consolidated for scoring 82 runs together after Sultans lost Chris Lynn earlier for just 6 runs. Lynn fell to Mohammad Irfan with Haider Ali taking a blinder in slips.

Sohaib Maqsood smashed 36 runs with the help of four boundaries and two sixes.

Saqib Mahmood bagged two wickets while Irfan and Mohammad Imran took a wicket each

Set to chase 194 runs, Kamran Akmal and Imam-ul-Haq partnered for 56-0 in the powerplay to lay down solid foundation for Zalmi. Akmal scored 37 runs while Imam made 48 runs.

Cadmore’s inning was a highlighting moment of the day followed by Haider (24*) and Shoaib (11*) who won the match for the Yellow army.

Shahnawaz Dhani bowled really well but leaked runs at the crucial moments. He took two wickets while Usman Qadir bagged a wicket.


Zalmi won the toss and decided to bowl first against Sultans.


Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal, Imam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Haider Ali, Tom Cadmore, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, Mujeeb-ur-Rehman, Saqib Mahmood, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan, Chris Lynn, James Vince, Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Shahid Afridi, Carlos Brathwaite, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir, Shahnawaz Dhani

Read: Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi eye first win in PSL 6