Rutherford, Wahab win last overs thriller for Peshawar Zalmi


KARACHI: Sherfane Rutherford and Wahab Riaz led Peshawar Zalmi from the front in the last overs as they defeated Quetta Gladiators by three wickets in the eighth match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6.

Wahab and Rutherford put a solid show in the last few overs as Gladiators’ bowlers were nowhere in the game.

Earlier, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Azam Khan dominated throughout as Gladiators posted 198-7 in 20 overs.

Sent into bat, Gladiators lost an early wicket of Cameron Delport but young Saim Ayub got a dream partnership with South African legendary batsman Faf Du Plessis. They both scored 33 runs together before Saim got run-out.

Wahab Riaz bagged Du Plessis in 11th over to reduce Gladiators to 88-3. But, Sarfaraz and Azam scored 105 runs together to put Gladiators in the driving seat. Sarfaraz made 81 runs off 40 balls with the help of 12 boundaries and a six.

Azam scored 47 runs off 26 balls with the help of six boundaries and two sixes.

Wahab conceded 54 runs in his four overs and bagged two wickets. Saqib Mahmood took three wickets while Mohammad Imran bagged a wicket.

In reply, Zalmi lost Kamran Akmal earlier for just 13 runs. Imam-ul-Haq fought hard with 41-run knock but Shoaib Malik and Haider Ali provided a rock-solid platform for Zalmi to chase 198 runs.

They both scored 52 runs together to bring Zalmi back in the chase. Haider struck five fours and two sixes to score 50 runs while Shoaib Malik smashed three sixes and a boundary to contribute 34 runs.

Rutherford and Wahab consolidated for 48 runs as Zalmi wrapped up their second win convincingly. Rutherford remained not out for 6 runs with the help of four towering sixes and a boundary. Wahab made quick 20 runs off eight balls laced with a boundary and two sixes.

For Gladiators, Dale Steyn bagged two wickets while Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Shinwari, Zahid Mahmood, and Ben Cutting took a wicket each.


Haider Ali


Zalmi’s skipper Wahab Riaz has won the toss and decided to bowl first against Gladiators.


Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal, Imam-ul-Haq, Tom Cadmore, Shoaib Malik, Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Mujeeb-ur-Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Saqib Mahmood, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed, Faf Du Plessis, Cameron Delport, Azam Khan, Saim Ayub, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nawaz, Zahid Mahmood, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Shinwari