MCC gives verdict over controversial Fakhar Zaman’s run out

0
5915

Karachi: A controversy that is making rounds all over the cricketing world regarding the run-out of Pakistan opening batsman Fakhar Zaman in the second ODI of the three-match series against South Africa has now caught the attention of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) too.

MCC, who determines the laws of cricket, took to Twitter and explained the law in this case. They emphasized that it was up to the umpire to decide whether the act of the fielder to distract the batter was willful or not.

“Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball,” MCC tweeted.

In another tweet, it said: “The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it’s Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.”

Note, Fakhar’s splendid innings ended on 193 on the first ball of the final over when a direct hit from Aiden Markram from long-off caught him short of his crease at the striker’s end.

However, it was because of De Kock who was blamed for ‘fake fielding’ as he gestured that the throw was going to the non-striker’s end but it came at the striker’s end.

South Africa beat Pakistan by 17 runs in the second ODI to level three-match series 1-1. The final match will be played on April 7 at SuperSport Park, Centurion.

Read: It was clever, don’t think De Kock broke any rules: Bavuma on Fakhar’s run out

Comments

comments