McCullum leads ICC’s World Cup XI team


DUBAI: International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the World Cup XI team on basis of their performances on Monday, reports.

It should be noted that not a single Pakistani and Indian cricketer has been named in the squad which was selected by a committee of the sport’s governing body.

New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum has been named the captain of the side.

Five New Zealand players which included McCullum, Martin Guptill, Corey Anderson, Daniel Vettori Trent Boult have been named in the side while three Australians players Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell were also included in the side.

South Africa’s AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel whereas Sri Lanka’s wicket keeper Kumar Sangakkara are also amongst the eleven players.

Brendon Taylor of Zimbabwe will be the 12th man for the team.