Mr Salman Iqbal thanked media, fans for making PSL successful


Karachi: Mr. Salman Iqbal, the owner of the most followed franchise of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), Karachi Kings has thanked media and fans for making PSL successful.

Mr. Salman Iqbal hailed the attendance of media reporters present at the press conference of all the franchise owners after the trophy unveiling ceremony.

“It’s good to see so much of members from media here, I remember there was only a line of reporters filled in Dubai but here, the house is full. We can see the excitement from this as people are waiting for the PSL” he said.

He also praised all the franchise owners, who are standing behind the PSL from the start of the league in 2016.

“Five initial franchise along with Multan Sultans deserves praise who are standing behind this product since the start, we saw tough situations initially but we were waiting for this time to see all the matches taking place in Pakistan,” he added.

Mr. Salman Iqbal reminded the first match of Karachi Kings at National Stadium when they faced Quetta Gladiators last year that made him wondered why it’s important for the matches being held in Pakistan

“I remember when we played a match in Karachi against Quetta Gladiators, the enthusiasm of the crowd and their strength made me estimated that the feel is different playing on home soil,” he added.

“There was a sign of hope when last time eight matches took place in Karachi but now all 34 matches are taking place in four different cities of Pakistan, it will be an unbelievable experience,” he maintained.

He concluded by again praising media for their positive role and support for the success of PSL.

It is worth mentioning that the PSL trophy unveiling ceremony took place for the first time in Pakistan where squash icon Jahangir Khan brought the trophy and it was revealed by PCB chairman Ehsan Mani.

Karachi Kings will play their first match against Peshawar Zalmi on February 21 at National Stadium. The league’s first match will be played between defending champions Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United after a glittering opening ceremony.