Multan wins National Disabled T-20 Cricket Championship


Matloob Qureshi played magnificent 76 runs inning to help Multan beat Islamabad by 59 runs in the final to win their third consecutive title of the National Disabled T-20 Cricket Championship at Pindi Cricket Stadium Rawalpindi on Monday.

Qureshi with the help of eight boundaries inspired his team to reach a mammoth total of 231 runs in allotted 20 overs.

Islamabad’s captain, Usman Paracha after winning the toss decided to bat first. Multan were outstanding with the bat as apart from Quereshi, Majid Hussain scored 74 runs in 47 balls laced with eleven boundaries and a six.

The responsible partnership of 129 runs between Qureshi and Hussain rescued Multan in the pressure situation.

Jahanzaib Tiwana was the other prominent scorer for Multan with 49 runs. Waqif Shah and Zubair Khan shared one wicket apiece.

Islamabad in reply reached only 172 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Adeel Abbasi scored 51 while captain Usman Paracha smashed quick 37.

Left-arm medium pacer Zubair Saleem bagged three wickets while Muhammad Sarfaraz and Umaiz-ur-Rehman took two wickets each.

Multan clinched cash prize of Rs. 100,000 while Runners-up Islamabad bagged Rs. 50,000. In individual performances, Matloob Qureshi with 220 Runs named as the best batsman, Jahanzaib Tiwana bagged best bowler award for taking nine wickets. Majid Hussain with 193 runs and four wickets clinched player of the tournament award.