Muzaffarabad Tigers beat Rawalakot Hawks to qualify for KPL final


Muzaffarabad: Mohammad Hafeez’s-led Muzaffarabad Tigers have qualified for the final of the first-ever Kashmir Premier League (KPL).

They defeated Shahid Afridi’s Rawalakot Hawks by seven runs as they defended 164 by dismissing Hawks on 157.

While batting first, the Tigers scored 164 for the loss of eight wickets. Anwar Ali rescued the Tigers by scoring a crucial fifty after they lost half of the side.

Anwar scored 57 off 34 balls, powered by five fours and three sixes. Inzmam ul Haq and Usama Mir also made valuable contributions, scoring 30 (33) and 20 (11) respectively.

Fo Hawks, Mohammad Imran Randhawa and Danish Aziz picked two wickets while Waqas Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Asif Afridi bagged a piece.

In reply, Hawks lost Ahmed Shahzad and Sahibzada Farhan in quick succession. Hussain Talat and Danish Aziz were the notable run-getters for the Hawks.

Hussain made 52 (35) while Danish Aziz scored quickfire 37 (22). Veteran Sohail Tanvir claimed figures of 4/29 to set up a win for Tigers.

Read: He’s a diamond in the rough: Bishop praises Shaheen