National Football Championship qualifying round commences next week


Leisure Leagues National Championship qualifying round to start from next week featuring 78 different city champion teams.

The teams will be gathered in different regions of Pakistan where they compete to advance to the next stage.

Nine different city champion teams will reach Sukkur while Tando Jam and Quetta will host other 10 and 16 teams respectively.

Meanwhile, Islamabad, Mingora, Swabi, Lahore, Sialkot, Gujrat, Multan, Gilgit, and Passu will host four champion teams each from nearby cities and towns.

Sindh will play their final contest at Tando Jam’s Agriculture University Football Ground after topping the 19 teams’ contest.

The top four teams from qualifying round in KPK, Baltistan and Islamabad will find their place Leisure Leagues National Championship, scheduled from July 28 in Karachi.

One team each from Punjab, KPK (Gilgit-Baltistan and AJK included), Balochistan and Sindh fight to win the national champion in Karachi.

It is pertinent to mention here that the national champion will represent Pakistan in the second edition of Socca World Cup, penciled in from October 12 to 20 in Crete, Greece.

Last time, Lahore’s ICAW played the small-sided football World Cup in Portugal.