National T20 Cup final: Highly experienced KP to face revitalized Southern Punjab


The highly experienced Khyber Pakhtunkhwa will take on underdogs Southern Punjab in the National T20 Cup final today at Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

KP has been considered as pre-tournament favorites and they have done everything right to qualify in the final. Their batting and bowling have been immensely impressive but they will be cautious while taking on Southern Punjab, who have completely turned the tables and reached the final.

SP only had won a match out of seven of the tournament and the cricket fraternity has wrote-them off but they won the last three group matches and stunned the defending champions, Northern, in the first semifinal.

SP has the momentum coming into the final as their main batters Sohaib Maqsood, skipper Shan Masood, Khushdil Shah and Zeeshan Ashraf have fired at the right time whereas all-rounders Hussain Talat and Aamir Yamin have provided valuable contributions with bat and ball.

On the other hand, KP has experienced campaigners like Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Hafeez that might go in their favor to claim the title of National T20. Captain Mohammad Rizwan has been in a red hot form while Shaheen Shah has outclassed oppositions with the new ball.

KP have won both of their group matches against Southern Punjab where they defeated them by 73 runs in the first outing whereas in the second, KP claimed a close by six runs.

Expected playing XIs

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan (C & wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Iftikhar Ahmed, Musadiq Ahmed, Asif Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Imran Khan

Southern Punjab: Shan Masood (C), Zeeshan Ashraf (wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Khushdil Shah, Hussain Talat, Aamir Yamin, Saif Badar, Mohammad Imran, Zahid Mehmood, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Abbas

The toss of the match will take place at 7.00 pm while the first ball will be bowled at 7.30 pm.