National Women Hockey Championship begins on Friday

Shukriya Pakistan

Lahore: The National Women Hockey Championship will begin from Friday at Islamabad after a gap of 3 years. WAPDA’s team will enter the field to defend its title, there are 11 teams participating in this tournament and the finals would be played on August 12. Outstanding players from this championship will be invited to attend the camp preparing for the Asia Cup qualifying round.

According to details the Women’s hockey event is taking place after a gap of 3 years. The 29th edition of the Women Hockey Championship will roll into action from August 5 at Naseer Bunda hockey stadium Islamabad. The 11 teams participating in this event are WAPDA, Railways, Army, HEC, Punjab Colors, Punjab Whites, Sindh Colors, Sindh Whites, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad. The teams are divided into two pools. The top two sides from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals.

WAPDA will be defending its title. Players with outstanding performance will be awarded special prizes. PHF’s selection committee members comprising former Olympians, Saleem Sherwani and Mussadiq Hussain and representative PHF women wing Chand Parveen will watch the players in action. Saeed Khan and Muhammad Usman who have been named manager and coach respectively for the national team will also be present.

Players showing outstanding performance in this event will be called for the next assignment of the national team for the 4th Women’s Asian Hockey Federation Cup in Bangkok, Thailand, to be held from October 1 to 9.