National Women’s Football Championship kicks off today in Karachi


KARACHI: National Women’s Football Championship 2021 will start from today at two venues in Karachi, ARY Sports reported. 

According to the details, Karachi Port Trust (KPT) Football Stadium will host the tournament’s opener between WAPDA and Gilgit.

As many as 20 teams and 500 players are taking part in this event. The teams have been divided into four groups of five. The top two teams will qualify for the quarter-finals from each group, while the remaining three teams will play the Development Stage.

The third placed team will wait for one of the fourth and fifth placed teams — who will play the Development Stage’s quarter-finals — in the semi-finals.

The winners of the event will receive the prize bag of PKR 1million whereas the runners up will get PKR 750,000/-. The third-placed team will win PKR 500,000/- while the Development Stage winners will take home PKR 50,000/-. An amount of PKR 925,000/- will be distributed among individual performers, coaches and referees.

The Group Stages will end on March 24 while the final will be played at the KPT Stadium on April 3. The Development Stage quarters and semis will be held from March 26 to 31 at the Aga Khan Gymkhana Ground while the final will be played at the KMC Stadium on April 2.

Read: Two-days Hub Rally to take place in Gaddani on March 13, 14