New Zealand beat India by 80 runs in T20I series opener


An aggressive 84 by Tim Seifert set up an 80-run win for New Zealand against India in their opening Twenty20 international against India in Wellington on Wednesday.

A successor with the ball for the Black Caps was Tim Southee who took three wickets conceding 17 runs in his four overs spell.

India while chasing lost an early wicket of Rohit Sharma who departed off Southee on just 18 runs. India after that blow were under immense pressure and needed someone to lift their morale. Shikar Dhawan and Vijay Shankar somehow managed to pull their team out of pressure putting 33 runs together on the board.

Dhawan’s wicket gave the hosts a much-needed edge as the left-handed batsman failed to handle the pace off Ferguson getting bowled out on a delivery which clicked 151km/h. He scored 29 off 18 balls two boundaries and three sixes.

Vijay Shankar made 27 runs with the help of two boundaries and as many sixes. Thereafter, the wickets started falling on regular intervals with only MS Dhoni showing courage to save his side scoring 39 runs including five boundaries and a maximum.

Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi shared two wickets apiece for New Zealand.

Earlier, New Zealand while batting first posted 219 for six on the scoreboard. Tim Seifert while showing his class hammered 84 runs off 43 balls with the help of seven boundaries and six maximums.

Colin Munro and Kane Williamson made 34 runs each to support their team running on a track which took them to a mammoth total. Ross Taylor made quick 23 runs to further strengthen the total of his team.

Hardik Pandya took two wickets conceding 51 runs while Bhuvneswar Kumar, Kunal Pandya, Khaleel Ahmed, and Yuzvendra Chahal shared a wicket apiece.

With this win, New Zealand are now 1-0 up in the three-match T20I series.