New Zealand win toss and bat in first-ever day-night Test


New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat against Australia in the first-ever day-night Test which will also feature a pink ball at the Adelaide Oval.

James Pattinson was the fast bowler omitted from the Australian team after spinner Steve O’Keefe was released from the original 13-man squad on Thursday.

Peter Siddle, who missed the first two Tests of the three-match series, will join Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood in Australia’s new-ball attack.

Kiwi Trent Boult, who has been troubled by an irritated disc, came through training to take his place while the Black Caps brought in extra spinner Mitchell Santner to make his Test debut for paceman Matt Henry.

The first day-night match in 138 years of Tests is one of cricket’s rare innovations and follows the advent of one-day internationals in the 1970s and the glitzy Twenty20 format in the last decade.

Ticket sales are pointing to a first-day crowd of up to 40,000 compared with 16,000 the last time the two sides met in Adelaide in 2008.

There will be keen interest in the performance of the newly-designed pink ball which is expected to swing freely during the different atmospheric conditions of the night session.

New Zealand, unbeaten in their last seven Test series since 2013, will have to win the historic Test to draw the series after Australia won the Brisbane opener by 208 runs and last week’s second Test in Perth finished in a high-scoring draw.


Australia – David Warner, Joe Burns, Steve Smith (capt), Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson (12th man)

New Zealand – Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (capt), Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling, Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Matt Henry (12th man)

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Sundaram Ravi (IND)

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)