NZ announces 13-man squad for the first two ODIs against Pakistan

NZ announces 13-men squad for the first two ODIs against Pakistan
Martin Guptill and Colin Munro make their way to the middle against West Indies - File Photo

New Zealand announced the 13-man squad for the first two ODIs of the five-match series against Pakistan, which is to kick off from January 6 at Wellington.

Kiwi star opener, Martin Guptill, who suffered an injury during West Indies series, has replaced his fellow opener George Worker, despite his convincing performance in the series, he scored two half-centuries in three games.

On the other hand, the hosts have retained two spinners in their line up, Mitchell Santner and Todd Astle in absence of the medium-pace all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme.

However, it will be interesting to see whether New Zealand opts to play both the spinners or choose one of them, knowing that Pakistan can struggle against pace bowling on fast seaming wickets.

New Zealand will be favourites to dominate the visitors in the five-match ODI series in their home conditions, whereas, keeping in view Pakistan’s recent run in the 50-over cricket, no one can write off the Men in Green.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptil, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.