Usama, Jamal make Northern National T20 2nd XI tournament champions


Usama Mir bagged three wickets to help Northern beat Southern Punjab (SP) by 40 runs to become champions of the National T20 2nd XI tournament at National Stadium, Karachi on Thursday.

Earlier, Jamal Anwar scored quick 21-ball 40 runs to help Northern post a mammoth total of 196-7 while batting first. His match-winning contribution, which includes five boundaries and a six, earned him man-of-the-final.

“We had planned to stay positive and play aggressively. I was assigned to play my natural game and I executed the plan well. My runs helped my team reach the strong total and I am happy for the win,” Jamal said.

Shoaib Ahmed was the top scorer for Northern with 68 runs off 45 deliveries. He struck four boundaries and three sixes. Opener Zeeshan Malik scored 34.

SP’s Zulfiqar Babar utilized his experience and bowled well for his team as he bagged three wickets while conceding 28 runs. Mohammad Imran took two wickets.

In return, SP managed to get 156-10 on the scoreboard despite opener Zeeshan Ashraf’s splendid 61 runs knock. He struck eight boundaries and three sixes to take SP’s score to 85 runs in seven overs while chasing.

“I am happy with my performance but at the same time disappointed as well because my team lost the match. It was one of the memorable tournaments for me,” said Zeeshan who was named best batsman for scoring the highest 395 runs in the tournament.

Zeeshan’s wicket off Mir saw major batting collapse of the chasing side. Due to wickets falling after regular intervals, SP’s batsmen faced immense pressure and couldn’t finish the things well for their team.

Apart from Mir, Salman Irshad and Noman Ali bagged two wickets each for Northern.

Noman Ali from Northern bagged best player of the tournament award and a cash prize of Rs 0.1 million. He took 10 wickets and scored 160 runs in seven matches. Southern’s Zeeshan also received a prize bag of as much money for his splendid batting show throughout.

Central Punjab’s Raza Ali Dar and SP’s Mohamamd Imran shared the best bowler of the tournament award as they both took 13 wickets in the tournament. They both shared Rs 0.1 million each.