Pacers performance during 2015 season disappointing


During 2015 five fast bowlers collectively took 49 wickets equalizing spinner Yasir Shah alone but the overall team’s performance remained satisfactory.

In the past, the fast bowlers were the ones to make Pakistan win but now their performance is extremely disappointing. Waqar Younus one of the best pacer’s of his time has miserably failed as a coach and has been unable to transfer his experience in the new talent. Wahab Riaz was the only successful pacer during the current year taking 20 wickets with a heavy average of 36.25 in 7 matches, Imran Khan took 13, Rahat Ali 9, Junaid Khan 6 and Ahsan Adil took 1 wicket each.


Collectively 5 pacers succeeded in taking 49 wickets only with an unimpressive average of 38.04. The interesting point to note is that Yasir Shah alone took the same number of wickets at an excellent average of 23 in 7 matches, which also includes his achievement of taking 5 wickets in an innings thrice. It was only Imran Khan among the fast bowlers who did it.


There was not a single bowler who could get 10 wickets in a match. Among the batsmen Younus Khan remained in the lead scoring 789 runs at an average of 60.69, Muhammad Hafeez scored 710 and Asad Shafiq 706 with an average of 59.16 and 54.30 respectively. Misbahul Haq scored 616 and Azhar Ali 576 runs, 13 centuries were scored in total, Asad Shafiq and Younus Khan did it 3 times, Azhar Ali and Muhammad Hafeez twice each, Misbah, Shan Masood and Shoaib Malik did it once. Shoab Malik, Azhar Ali and Muhammad Hafeez also succeeded in converting their single innings to double centuries.


Among the 33 fifties scored, Misbah was on top with 7, Asad Shafiq 6, Azhar Ali, Muhammad Hafeez and Younus Khan 4 each, Sarfraz Ahmad 3, Shan Masood 2, whereas Ahmad Shahzad, Shoaib Malik and Zulfiqar Babar scored 1 each. Pakistan team won all the 3 series this year. Overall Pakistan won 5 matches out of 8, lost one and 2 remained a draw. Green Caps defeated Bangladesh 1-0 in a 2 match series, won against Sri Lanka 2-1 and England 2-0, the last two series were of 3 test each.