Pakistan and England at the iconic Sharjah venue


England made a roaring comeback in the four match ODI series when they convincingly defeated the Pakistan side in the second ODI at Abu Dhabi. The third ODI is scheduled to take place in Sharjah today as the two sides look to move into a position of safety by taking an unassailable lead.

Both sides have some matters to sought out before they take field once again especially the Pakistan team who have multiple problems on their hands. The opening slot is an issue as always and Yasir Shah’s injury is another concern for the men in green as he is unlikely to take part in the third ODI but Azhar Ali was hopeful that he might play. England on the other hand will need their lower order to fire in the death overs because that’s where they lacked in the second ODI but seeing Alex Hales perform at the top of the pile is a sigh of relief for the touring side as he denied the Pakistan fast bowlers those quick wickets upfront. They need to make sure they do the same in the 3rd ODI because loosing early wickets means that the Pakistan spinners can dominate in the middle part of the innings and tighten the noose around the Barmy Army.


England would be glad to see the back of Yasir Shah but having said that the incoming spinner Zafar Gohar could pose some sort of a problem for the English side as he is a relatively unknown prodigy. Zafar Gohar has not yet played an international match for Pakistan but this is his chance to start his international career on conditions which he is acclimatized with.

Head to head 

Pakistan and England have faced off 5 times at the iconic Sharjah stadium and England have the upper hand with 3 wins out of those matches. Last time the two sides played here was way back in 1999 when England won the match by 62 runs.

The squads

Pakistan squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Aamer Yamin, Yasir Shah, Zafar Gohar, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Rahat Ali, Bilal Asif

England squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Taylor, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett