Pakistan announce Test squad for Sri Lanka sans Ajmal


Opener Ahmed Shahzad who was dropped from both Test and ODI squads after the 2015 World Cup has find a place in 16-member Test squad for Sri Lanka tour.

Babar Azam, Bilawal Bhatti, Sami Aslam were also excluded from the team.

Rahat Ali, Sohaib Maqsood and Sohail Khan continued to be unavailable due to their injuries.

Shehzad was was recalled for the Zimbabwe ODIs but remained on the bench throughout the three-match series. Shehzad is one of three openers along with Mohammad Hafeez and Shan Masood in the squad.

Test squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali (vc), Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan and Ehsan Adil.