Amir returns as PCB announces 16-member Test squad against South Africa

Lahore: The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur has announced the 16 member Test squad for three Test matches against South Africa.

The first Test match of the three-match series will be played at Centurion from December 26 to 30, 2018. The second Test match will be played at Cape Town from January 3 to 7, 2019. The third and final Test match of the series will be played at Johannesburg from January 11 to 15, 2019.

While talking to the media, Inzamam said, “The best possible squad has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of South Africa, three openers have been selected in the squad, where Shan Masood has been selected after the retirement of Mohammad Hafeez from Test cricket.”

“Mohammad Amir makes a comeback in the team after regaining his form in the domestic cricket, giving strength to fast bowling attack that includes four pace bowlers. Mohammad Rizwan has been included in the squad after performing consistently in the domestic cricket and for Pakistan ’A’,” concludes Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq.

The selected players are:

  1. Imam ul Haq
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Shan Masood
  4. Azhar Ali
  5. Haris Sohail
  6. Asad Shafiq
  7. Babar Azam
  8. Sarfaraz Ahmad (Captain – WK)
  9. Muhammad Rizwan
  10. Yasir Shah
  11. Shadab Khan
  12. Muhammad Abbas
  13. Hassan Ali
  14.  Muhammad Amir
  15. Faheem Ashraf
  16.  Shaheen Shah Afridi