Melbourne ODI: Hafeez, bowlers stop Australia from Wading in

Pakistan v Australia, 2nd ODI, Melbourne
Pakistan batsman Mohammad Hafeez hits out against Australia's bowling during their ODI match at the MCG in Melbourne on January 15, 2017. (PHOTO: AFP)
Shukriya Pakistan

Brief scores: Pakistan 221/4 (47.4 overs) beat Australia 220/10 by six wickets in the second ODI in Melbourne

Pakistan skipper Mohammad Hafeez led his team from the front with a 104-ball 72 as they beat Australia by six wickets in the second of five one-day internationals in Melbourne on Sunday.

Hafeez, who was awarded the Man of the Match for his batting, partnered with hard-hitting left hand opener Sharjeel Khan to provide Pakistan with a much-needed solid first-wicket stand of 68 runs to ease their chase of 221 set by Australia.

Pakistan bowlers took charge to dismiss Australia for 220 in 48.2 overs.

Australia, after winning the toss and electing to bat first, found it difficult right from the onset to carry on with their aggressive style of play.

Pace duo of Mohammad and Junaid Khan ran through the Australian top order. At one stage, somewhat similar to the first ODI in Brisbane, Australia were reeling at 128 for five.

Read: Misbah wants better planning for Australia tours

Steve Smith cuts a delivery away. (PHOTO: AFP)
Steve Smith cuts a delivery away. (PHOTO: AFP)

Amir, 24, was Pakistan’s successful bowler with figures 9.2-0-47-3.

Junaid and left-arm spinner Imad Wasim took two wickets each, and former captain Shoaib Malik along with fast bowler Hasan Ali also chipping in to get a wicket.

Junaid set down the tone for Pakistan’s charge as he dismissed hard-hitting Australian opening batsman David Warner and Usman Khawaja.

Amir followed his trail and took the wicket of Mitchell Marsh.

Hasan Ali, who was the highest wicket-taker for Pakistan in the first ODI, claimed Travis Head’s wicket.

Matthew Wade is bowled. (PHOTO: AFP)
Matthew Wade is bowled. (PHOTO: AFP)

Then an intelligent bowling change by skipper Mohammad Hafeez saw Imad Wasim sending the dangerous Glenn Maxwell back to the pavilion.

Also read: Pakistan’s ‘old-style’ cricket does not really have any future

Imad, later in the innings, got rid of Smith. Australia could not Wade in this time as Malik had him clean bowled before he could have settled.

Pakistan are missing captain Azhar Ali, who suffered a hamstring injury in the first ODI in Brisbane on Friday.

Imad Wasim celebrates with teammates after dismissing Genn Maxwell. (PHOTO: AFP)
Imad Wasim celebrates with teammates after dismissing Genn Maxwell. (PHOTO: AFP)

He has been replaced by Asad Shafiq. Mohammad Hafeez will captain the team in Azhar’s absence.

In other changes, Shoaib Malik and Junaid Khan come in for Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Nawaz.

Australia have made two changes to the side that beat Pakistan on Friday.

Chris Lynn is out with a neck injury and has been replaced by Usman Khawaja and fast bowler Josh Hazlewood comes in for Billy Stanlake.

Australia lead the series 1-0.


Australia innings

U. Khawaja c Sharjeel b Junaid 17

D. Warner c Rizwan b Junaid 16

S. Smith b Imad 60

M. Marsh c Imad b Amir 0

T. Head c Rizwan b Hasan 29

G. Maxwell b Imad 23

M. Wade b Malik 35

J. Faulkner c Asad b Amir 19

M. Starc run out (Junaid) 3

P. Cummins c Rizwan b Amir 0

J. Hazelwood not out 0

Extras (lb7, w11) 18

Total (48.2 overs) 220

Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Warner), 2-40 (Khawaja), 3-41 (Marsh), 4-86 (Head), 5-128 (Maxwell), 6-193 (Smith), 7-199 (Wade), 8-207 (Starc), 9-212 (Cummins), 10-220 (Faulkner)

Bowling: Amir 9.2-0-47-3 (1w), Junaid 8-0-40-2 (3w), Imad 10-0-37-2 (2w), Hasan 7-0-29-1, Hafeez 10-0-45-0 (1w), Malik 4-0-15-1


Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (capt), Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood

Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL) and Paul Wilson (AUS)

Third Umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)