Pakistan bat first after winning toss at Lord’s

Shukriya Pakistan

Pakistan’s captain Misbah-ul-Haq has won the toss and has elected to bat first in the first Test match at the historic Lord’s cricket ground.

Both teams have fielded solid playing elevens for this match and are hoping that they can come out with win and set the tone for this all important series.

The first Test match will see the return of fast bowler Mohammad Amir who was involved in the infamous spot-fixing scandal and bowled those deliberate no-balls at the same venue. The scandal resulted in a ban being imposed on the trio which included the then captain Salman Butt and fast bowler Mohammad Asif.

Pakistan and England are scheduled to take part in a four match Test series followed by a five match ODI series and a solitary T20 match. The tour will conclude at Old Trafford, Manchester on the 7th of September.

Pakistan fielded three left-arm quicks Thursday in Amir, Wahab Riaz and Rahat Ali, with leg-spinner Yasir Shah completing a four-man attack.

This was Pakistan’s first series in England since 2010 and Thursday’s match was the 42-year-old Misbah’s first appearance at Lord’s.

England had already named their side on Wednesday, with Nottinghamshire quick Jake Ball given a debut in place of James Anderson, England’s all-time leading wicket-taker.

An initially sunny day at Lord’s would have encouraged Misbah to bat first although the skies had clouded over a touch after he won the toss.

But so good have the pitches been at Lord’s this season, that all of Middlesex’s County Championship matches at the ground have ended in draw.


PAKISTAN XI: Hafeez, Mashood, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Shafiq, Ahmed (wk), Amir, Riaz, Shah, Rahat Ali.

ENGLAND XI: Cook (c), Hales, Root, Vince, Ballance, Bairstow (wk), Moeen, Woakes, Broad, Finn, Ball. (12th man: Roland-Jones)

The story includes input from AFP