Pakistan to bat as UAE wins toss in World Cup match

Shukriya Pakistan

NAPIER: United Arab Emirates (UAE) captain Muhammad Tauqir won the toss and put Pakistan to bat in their World Cup Pool B Match  here on Wednesday, ARY Sports reported.

Reuters adds

Most teams who win the toss tend to bat first in Napier, on what is considered the best batting pitch in New Zealand.

Both sides are unchanged from their previous matches which saw Pakistan beat Zimbabwe and UAE hammered by India in Perth.

Pakistan must win against a side they are familiar with, having lost their first two games at the tournament.

Security concerns in Pakistan have meant Misbah ul-Haq’s side play their international ‘home’ series in UAE. They have fashioned a solid record in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

“We’ve played most of our cricket in UAE, so you could say it’s home for us and whatever we have achieved and whatever we’ve done in the last four years is due to UAE and that has played a big part and an important part in Pakistan’s cricket,” Misbah said on Tuesday.

Pakistan’s batsmen have failed to fire so far at the tournament.

The McLean Park pitch provides true pace and bounce, while the small, square boundaries tend to make matches high scoring affairs. New Zealand scored 369 for five here against Pakistan last month.


Pakistan – Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Haris Sohail, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan

UAE – Amjad Ali, Andri Berenger, Krishna Chandran, Khurram Khan, Shaiman Anwar, Swapnil Patil, Rohan Mustafa, Amjad Javed, Mohammad Naveed, Mohammad Tauqir (captain), Manjula Guruge.

Toss – United Arab Emirates, who chose to field

Umpires – JD Cloete (South Africa) and S Ravi (India)

TV umpire – RK Illingworth (England)

Match referee – BC Broad (England)

Reserve umpire – M Erasmus (South Africa)