Pakistan eyeing first test series win on Sri Lankan soil in nine years


GALLE: Pakistan will take on Sri Lanka in the first of the three match test series at Galle on Wednesday (tomorrow), reports.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka both are eyeing the third spot in test rankings.

It should be noted that the visitors have not managed to win a test series in the island country since 2006 while the hosts have won all the previous three test series on their home soil.

Pakistani captain Misbah-ul-Haq has said that his side haven’t managed to win a single series in the past nine years as they could not play spin properly.

“We have done our homework against leg spinner Rangana Herath. He had troubled us in the previous series as well”, Misbah said.

Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews said that Pakistan is a tough opposition to beat. He added that the bowling department of the green shirt is strong despite with the absence of spinner Saeed Ajmal.

“Ajmal’s absence will benefit the side in the series”, Mathews said.

Pakistan (squad): Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan, Ehsan Adil.

Sri Lanka (squad): Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithruwan Vithanage, Jehan Mubarak, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness).