Pakistan hockey team announced for Olympic Qualifying Round


The chief selector of the Pakistan hockey team, Manzoor Junior, has announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming Olympic Qualifying Round’s fixture against the Netherlands.

Rizwan senior will lead the national team in two matches on October 26 and 27 while Amad Butt will serve as his deputy. As many as seven new players have been included in the squad.

“We have build up a young combination following the high standards of modern-day hockey. This series is important for us as we aim to qualify for Olympics 2020,” the head coach said while talking to the media in Lahore.

The former Olympian said that the team has been selected in consultation with Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF)’s president Khalid Sajjad Khokhar and secretary Asif Bajwa.

“We have observed every player very closely in training camp. This team got final after everyone agreed with it,” he said.

Complete squad

Amjad Ali (Goalkeeper), Waqar (Goalkeeper), Rizwan Sr (Captain), Amad Butt (VC), Mubashir Ali, Rizwan Ali, Tasawur Abbas, AbuBakar, Azfar Yaqoob, Moin Jamil, Rashid Mahmood, Umar Bhutta, Rana Sohail, Ghazanfar Ali, Hammad Anjum, Ajaz Ahmed, Alishan, Rana Waheed.