Pakistan, India declared joint winners in Asian Hockey

Pakistan, India declared joint winners in Asian Hockey

Arch-rivals Pakistan vs India on Sunday declared joint winners of the fifth Asian Champions Trophy (ACT) hockey tournament after the much-anticipated summit clash was called off due to heavy rain.

Raining since evening delayed the start of the final and even though the skies relented later, but by then the damage had already been done.

The turf was completely waterlogged because of the heavy showers and after discussion with both the coaches of Pakistan and India, the tournament director decided to call off the match and declare both the teams as joint winners.

For records, Pakistan and India had won the title twice each before the current edition. India came into the tournament this year as defending champions having won the last edition in 2016 after their title triumph in the inaugural edition in 2011.

Pakistan won the title twice in 2012 and 2013 besides finishing runners-up in 2011 and 2016. India to have finished runners-up once in 2012.