Pakistan and India share ICC Women’s Championship points due to Force Majeure


Karachi: The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that Pakistan and India will share ICC Women’s Championship points because of Force Majeure.

South Africa, Australia and Sri Lanka, New Zealand series canceled due to COVID-19 and they will also share the points.

The TC concluded that Pakistan, India series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but it was unable to take place.

Australia, England, South Africa and now India have qualified for the 2021 World Cup along with host New Zealand.

Pakistan along with Sri Lanka and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship and the other two women’s team with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, the winners of the five regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and Netherlands (Europe) will take part in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be played from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka but is subjected to review due to the COVID-19 pandemic.