Pakistan lose openers early as SA bowl first

Opener Fakhar Zaman and Imam ul Haq fell early in the second Test against South Africa at Newlands on Thursday.

South Africa won the toss and opted to bowl first. South African speedster Dale Steyn sent Fakhar back to the pavilion in the fifth over of the match while recalled fit-again Vernon Philander took Imam’s wicket.

South African captain Faf du Plessis, before the match stated that, “We’ve gone with four seamers and want to get stuck into that batting line-up,”

“In the past three years innings here generally don’t go beyond 80 or 90 overs so the spinners don’t play much of a role. Against a sub-continent team with grass on the pitch we’ve decided to go with seam.”

Pakistan made one change from the team beaten by six wickets in the first Test at Centurion, with Mohammad Abbas returning at the expense of fellow seamer Hasan Ali.

South African: Faf du Plessis (captain), Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain/wkt), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Shaheen Shah Afridi,.

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Joel Wilson (WIN)

TV umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)