Pakistan and the history of disappointing performances in Asia Cup

Pakistan and the history of disappointing performances in Asia Cup

Pakistan team played horrible cricket during Asia Cup 2018, they only managed to win two games against Hong Kong and Afghanistan, while they faced humiliation defeats in two matches against India and in one contest against Bangladesh, which knocked them out of the tournament.

The Men in Green, who were rated as the favourites to win the tournament keeping their performance in the last year in view, could not even qualify to the final of the campaign. Sarfraz Ahmed, the captain and his players are heavily criticised for their below par performance.

But, how well Pakistan have done in Asia Cups played in the past.

The inaugural edition of Asia Cup was played back in 1984 in the UAE in which Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka competed in the tournament. Pakistan lost both of their contests against India and Sri Lanka, and were eliminated from it.

Pakistan played the final of the second edition of the tournament which was played in Sri Lanka. India pulled out of the campaign due to their rift against the hosts, and eventually Bangladesh were inducted in the tournament. Pakistan reached the final, but lost the decider.

It took sixteen years for Pakistan since the first season of Asia Cup in 1984 to become the Asian Champions. Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the final of Asia Cup 2000, played in Bangladesh, to lift the trophy for the first time.

The Men in Green emerged as the Asian Champions for the second time in Asia Cup 2012, where they beat the host nation Bangladesh by just two runs in a nail biting contest.

The other significant performance Pakistan put in Asia Cup was in 2014, where they reached the final, beating India and Bangladesh in close encounters, but they were undone by Angelo Mathews’ Sri Lanka in the final.

Pakistan have the history of not being the best of performers in Asia Cups, they have played just four finals. Even the mighty 90’s team of Pakistan failed to put much of impressive shows during their heydays.

On the other hand, India have won the tournament six times, whereas Sri Lanka have won it on five occasions.