Pakistan qualifies for ICC 2021 T20 World Cup in India


Dubai: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the qualification procedure of the 2021 T20 World Cup in India. Pakistan along with 11 other participating teams of the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia have directly qualified for the mega event.

16 teams will take part in the competition. ICC decided to replace Champions Trophy tournament that was last held in 2017 in England.

11 regional qualification tournaments will take place across the five ICC regions of Africa, America, Asia, East-Asia Pacific, and Europe with eight teams progressing to one of two global qualifying events.

The bottom four teams from the T20 World Cup 2020 will join the regional qualifiers in the global qualification events along with Zimbabwe, Nepal, UAE, and Hong Kong, the next four best T20I ranked teams as of 1 January 2020.

16 teams will fight for four T20 World Cup spots in two global qualifiers with the top two teams from each progressing to the event in 2021.

“We strive to provide consistent and competitive cricket and we ensure the event’s success in every way possible, despite the timelines available,” ICC head of events Chris Tetley said

“We worked with members on a number of options and came to the point that both global and regional competitions could be allowed on the way to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021,” He added