Pakistan seek series win in T20 decider against Kiwis

Pakistan seek series win in T20 decider against Kiwis

After levelling three-match Twenty 20 International (T20I) series against New Zealand, Pakistan is now determined to win the series.

Both teams will battle to become the best T20 side in the world on Sunday at Mount Maunganui.

On Thursday, Pakistan romped to a 48-run T20 win in Auckland, crushing New Zealand with the bat and duly riding out the result.

A thunderous opening helped Pakistan to 4-201 in their 20 overs which the Black Caps simply couldn’t match, bowled out for 153.

The way they bounced back in the second T20 was remarkable, as it was a treat to watch for Pakistan cricket fans, Pakistan side has historically put up it’s best performances when expectations are at their lowest.

On the other hand, Black Caps will also put their effort to win the final match as if they lose the series decider, then Pakistan will move on to the top spot in the ranking while New Zealand would slip to the second spot.

Meanwhile, if Pakistan loses, they will retain their second spot in the International Cricket Council rankings.

Pakistan opening batsman Fakhar Zaman seems positive after the first victory, “Pakistan are fresh off their first victory on their New Zealand tour and ready to claim a second in Sunday’s Twenty20 series decider,” he said.

Pakistan (squad): Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Umar Amin, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali and Rumman Raees.

New Zealand (squad): Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Martin Guptill, Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips, Colin de Grandhomme, Anaru Kitchen, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Wheeler, Seth Rance and Trent Boult.