Malik, Hafeez returns as Pakistan announces T20I squad


Lahore: Chief selector and Head coach Misbah-ul-Haq has announced the 15-member T20 squad for the series against Bangladesh. Senior players Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik make a comeback in the side.

For his brilliant performances in the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL) in Australia, Haris Rauf has also inducted been in the squad. He is currently the second-highest wicket-taker. in BBL with 16 wickets. Opener Ahsan Ali is also the new entry in the Pakistan T20 side who scored 131 runs in five matches at a strike-rate of nearly 149 in the National T20 Cup in Faisalabad in October.

Uncapped Amad Butt who was once named in the squad back in 2016 against England has also been recalled in the squad. He scored 80 runs at a strike-rate of 170 and also took 10 wickets at an economy rate of 7.62 in the National T20 Cup.

The fast bowling duo of Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz have been sidelined whereas Shaheen Shah Afridi is also making a comeback in the shorter format.

Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq have also been left out. Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Musa Khan, Usman Qadir, Ifthikar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, and Khushdil Shah were retained in the 15-member squad who last played in Australia.

T20 skipper Babar Azam was also present at the press conference and is happy with the squad, thanking the selection committee on inducting senior players on his request.

“I am happy with the selected squad and want to thank the selection committee for entertaining my request for Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. I believe they still have plenty to offer to Pakistan cricket in the shortest format and their experience can be critical to our performances in the upcoming series,”

Pakistan will take on Bangladesh in a three-match T20 series at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on 24,25 and 27 January.

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam, Ahsan Ali, Ammad Butt, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah, Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir