Pakistan to fight West Indies for World Cup’s berth

Pakistan to fight West Indies for World Cup’s berth
Pakistan to fight West Indies for World Cup’s berth

Pakistan will take on West Indies in the first ODI of the three-match series. The stakes in the series are high as the direct qualification to World Cup 2019 depends on the outcome of the series.

The World Cup 92 champions are currently ranked at eighth spot with 89 points, whereas, West Indies, who have dominated the world of cricket with their vicious pace attack and attacking batting approach, are ranked at ninth position with 84 points.

The only way West Indies can surpass Pakistan in ranking is by whitewashing the visitors in the three-match ODI series. Whereas, Pakistan can book a direct berth in World Cup 2019 just by winning the series.

The Men in Green are favourites to win the series as they have a young, talented and energetic side and they have got the momentum after winning T20 series comprehensively.

Pakistan have recalled their best pace bowler Mohammad Amir, which will strengthen their side even more. Pakistan have a solid bowling line with Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim and the young spin sensation Shadab Khan.

In contrast to the young and firy bowling attack, they have experienced batting line with Kamran Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik and the skipper Sarfraz Ahmed.

It will be a new challenge for the wicketkeeper batsman, Sarfraz Ahmed, who has recently worn the captaincy band recently.

However, West Indies will also have a new energy in their dressing room as they have a new team in the 50-over format under a new captain, Jason Holder.

West Indies can pose a serious challenge to the visitors, specially keeping in view Pakistan’s vulnerability in this form of the game.

The game will start at 6:30 PM (PST).

PAKISTAN: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asghar.

WEST INDIES: Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton.