Pakistan U-16 team to tour Bangladesh in April

Pakistan U-16 team to tour Bangladesh in April

Pakistan Cricket Board announced that Pakistan U-16 team is scheduled to tour Bangladesh in April for three weeks, where they will play two three-day games and three 50-over encounters.

The squad will be announced in the second week of April out of the 26 probable players who will attend a training camp commencing from March 31, while the team will depart on April 25.

The tour is a part of their strategy to not only revive youth cricket but also to make it a path to reach the highest level of the game.

“This series is a stepping stone for the U16 players for the upcoming high profile series and future events. The Pakistan U16 side displayed a good account of themselves against Australia U16 in Dubai, and now it is their opportunity to further hone their skills against an equally tough side in Bangladesh in different conditions,” said PCB Director – International.

“Youth cricket is a pathway to senior cricket and features very prominently in the PCB’s cricket strategy. In coming weeks, we are confident that we will make further announcements on junior tours programme, which will provide more opportunities to the talented teenage cricketers to gain experience and exposure, and at the same time be best prepared to take a shot at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020, which we last won under our present national captain Sarfaraz Ahmed in 2006.”

Director Academies, Mudassar Nazar has said that they have chalked out an effective plan for U-16 cricketers of the country.

“Special focus is on three-day matches as these lads have never played this format of the game. You have to make a beginning from somewhere, and this might well happen here under the watch of highly-qualified and committed coaches,” he said.

Earlier, Pakistan defeated Australia U-16 in the 50-over format in the UAE 3-2, while they also won the one-off T20.

Probable 26 players:

Abdur Rehman (Abbottabad), Ahmad Khan (Abbottabad), Afzal Manzoor (Sialkot), Ali Hassan (Sialkot), Ali Asfand (Faisalabad), Aliyan Mehmood (Karachi), Amir Hassan (Rawalpindi), Arham Nawab (Faisalabad), Aseer Mughal (Rawalpindi), Ayaz Shah (FATA), Faisal Akram (Multan), Farhad Khan (FATA), Ibrar Afzal (Lahore), Haseebullah (Quetta), Kashif Ali (Karachi), Khalid Khan (Quetta), Mohammad Hasnain Sabir (Rawalpindi), Mohammad Latif (FATA), Mohammad Shehzad (Multan), Mohammad Waqas (Faisalabad), Muneeb Wasif (Lahore), Masood Ahmed (Quetta), Rizwan Mahmood (Hyderabad), Sameer Saqib (Faisalabad), Umer Eman (Lahore) and Zubair Shinwari (FATA).


29 April – 1 May – Three-day match, Fatullah

5-7 May – Three-day match, Khulna

10 May – 1st 50-over match, Khulna

12 May – 2nd 50-over match, Khulna

15 May – 3rd 50-over match, Khulna