Nawaz hits winning runs as Pakistan lifts T20I series


Centurion: Mohammad Nawaz’s last two overs heroics led Pakistan to the T20I series victory against South Africa in their backyard. 

Pakistan was in deep trouble, needing 16 runs off 12 balls with Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Nawaz at the crease. Faheem lost his wicket on the second ball but Nawaz stood firm and scored winning runs for Pakistan as they won the fourth T20I by three wickets.

Fakhar Zaman scored his fifth half-century to lay down a solid foundation for Pakistan but wickets fell quickly, later on, to convert an easy chase into a tricky one.

Earlier, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf bagged three wickets each as Pakistan bowled out South Africa for 144.

Sent into bat first, South Africa lost Aiden Markram earlier for just 16 runs but Janneman Malan and Rassie van der Dussen rescued their team and added 57 runs together.

Faheem Ashraf broke this partnership in ninth over by bagging Malan at mid-off. He scored 33 runs off 28 balls with the help of three boundaries and a six.

Haris Rauf bagged Dussen in 14th over to hold South Africa at the back end. Dussen got out after scoring 52 off 36 laced with five boundaries two maximums. Later on, South Africa kept on losing wickets after regular intervals.

Apart from Hasan and Faheem, Haris took two wickets whereas Mohammad Nawaz and Shaheen Shah Afridi shared a wicket apiece.

In reply, Pakistan lost in-form Rizwan for naught followed by Babar Azam (24) and Fakhar (60) scoring 91 runs together to rescue the visiting side. The wickets of Fakhar and Babar led to yet another collapse in the batting order.

Down the order, Nawaz scored 25 runs off 21 balls with the help of a boundary and two sixes.

Lizaad Williams Sisanda Magala bagged two wickets each while Bjorn Fortuin, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Andile Phehlukwayo took a wicket each for South Africa.


Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl first

Pakistan are unchanged from the last T20I where they beat home side by nine wickets. South Africa have made two changes. Wiaan Mulder makes his debut, they’ve also brought in Bjorn Fortuin. Beuran Hendricks and Pite van Biljon are out.

It must be noted Pakistan is 2-1 up in the four-match series. They also won the ODI series 2-1 last week.


Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf.

South Africa: Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen (capt, wk), George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wiaan Mulder,Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi.