Pakistan win toss and bat in Sharjah Test


Sharjah: Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and opted to bat against West Indies in the third and final Test in Sharjah on Sunday.

Pakistan leads the three-match series after winning the first two Tests by 56 runs and 133 runs respectively, in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Misbah is leading Pakistan in his 49th Test — the most by any Pakistan captain — breaking Imran Khan’s record of 48 Tests as skipper.

Pacemen Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz returned to Pakistan team after being rested in the second Test in Abu Dhabi, with Sohail Khan and Rahat Ali left out.

West Indies also made two changes with Shai Hope and Miguel Cummins making way for Alzarri Joseph and Shane Dowrich.


Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar

West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, Alzarri Joseph, Marlon Samuels

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Tv umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)