Pakistan women’s team to tour South Africa next month


Karachi: Pakistan women’s national cricket team will tour South Africa for three ODIs and three T20Is, which will be played in Durban and Pietermaritzburg from 20 January to 3 February, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). announced today.

The series will start and finish in Durban with the first ODI on 20 January and the third T20I on 3 February. Both matches will be played under lights. Durban will also host the second ODI on 23 January before action will move to Pietermaritzburg where the third ODI and opening two T20Is will be played on 26, 29 and 31 January, respectively.

For preparation and selection, the women’s national selection committee has invited 27 women cricketers for a training and preparation camp, which will be held at the Hanif Mohammad High-Performance Centre in Karachi from 20 December. The team for the series is expected to be announced on Thursday, 31 December 2020

The team will remain and train in a bio-secure environment from the start of the training camp until the side’s departure for Durban on 11 January.

Prior to joining the camp, each cricketer will require a negative test and another negative test after reporting for the camp before being allowed to integrate with other members of the group.

The tour of South Africa will also be the first official assignment of head coach David Hemp and bowling coach Arshad Khan. Mohammad Kamran Hussain will be the assistant coach at the training camp.

This will be Pakistan women’s side’s second tour to South Africa within 18 months as they toured the country in May 2019. ODI series ended in a 1-1 draw while South Africa clinched the five-match T20I series 3-2.

Probables for South Africa Tour:

Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana Khan, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Javeria Rauf, Kainat Imtiaz, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Najiha Alvi, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Rameen Shamim, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz and Syeda Aroob Shah

Tour schedule:

11 Jan – Departure for Durban

13-19 Jan – Training, practice and intra-squad matches, Durban

20 Jan – 1st ODI (d/n), Kingsmead Stadium, Durban

23 Jan – 2nd ODI (d), Kingsmead Stadium, Durban

26 Jan – 3rd ODI (d), Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg

29 Jan – 1st T20I (d), Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg

31 Jan – 2nd T20I (d), Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg

3 Feb – 3rd T20I (d/n), Kingsmead Stadium, Durban

Read: PCB Challengers crowned winners of National T20 Women’s Cricket Championship