Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl first

World Cup: Pakistan vs Australia

Pakistan captain, Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to field first in overcast conditions on a green top track against Australia in their World Cup contest.

Pakistan have dropped their front line spinner, Shadab Khan to include the left-arm pacer, Shaheen Shah Afridi into the playing XI due to the pace-friendly conditions.

“A bit of grass, looks like a green pitch, a bit of moisture,” says Sarfraz after the toss. “Unfortunately we didn’t play the last game, but worked hard with lots of practice.”

On the other hand, Australia also dropped Adam Zampa and included Kane Richardson in the line-up and wanted to bowl first too.

“One-off games in different conditions, you expect to come up against the best. It’ll have to be wait-and-see what the wicket does first-up,” said the Aussie skipper, Aaron Finch.

Team line-ups

Pakistan 1 Imam-ul-Haq, 2 Fakhar Zaman, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Mohammad Hafeez, 5 Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt & wk), 6 Shoaib Malik, 7 Asif Ali, 8 Wahab Riaz, 9 Hasan Ali, 10 Shaheen Afridi, 11 Mohammad Amir

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Shaun Marsh, 6 Glenn Maxwell, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Nathan Coulter-Nile, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Kane Richardson