Pakistan, Zimbabwe ODI series starts today

Shukriya Pakistan

LAHORE: Three match one day series between Pakistan and Zimbabwe will kick off here in Lahore on Tuesday (today) at Lahore’s Gaddafi stadium, reports.

Like the Twenty20 series, the tickets for the 50 over games have been sold out as well.

The gates of the stadium will be closed for spectators at 03:00 pm and the match will kick off at 04:00 pm.

The one dayers will be played in strict security as police and commandos have been deployed around the stadium to curb any untoward situation in the match.

Pakistan have included Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Sami in the squad while in-form batsman Mukhtar Ahmed has been considered for the series.

Umar Akmal and Saeed Ajmal have not been named in the 50 man squad for the one dayers.

Pakistan and Zimbabwe have played 48 one day internationals in which the green shirts have won 43 matches while the African side has won three games.

Zimbabwean side has not won a one day series against Pakistan yet. They had last played in Pakistan 17 years ago.

The Asian side has to win the three match series against Zimbabwe if they are to keep their hopes alive of playing in the upcoming ICC Champions in 2017.

Pakistan ODI captain Azhar Ali has said that his side will try to win all the three matches against Zimbabwe in order to keep their chances of qualifying for the Champions Trophy alive.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwean Captain Elton Chigambura said that the batting department of his side performed well but the bowling and fielding of the team has to improve.

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmad Shahzad, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Hammad Azam, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami and Junaid Khan.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (capt), Sikandar Raza, Chamu Chibhabha, Charles Coventry, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Roy Kaia, Hamilton Masakadza, Christopher Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Richmond Mutumbami, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori and Sean Williams.