PCB announce 15-member squad for ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020


The chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)’s junior selection committee, Saleem Jaffer, revealed the 15 names who will represent Pakistan in next year’s ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 in South Africa.

Wicket-keeper batsman Rohail Nazir will captain the green shirts while opening batsman Haider Ali has been appointed as his deputy.

The 15-member squad includes Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Quetta), Haider Ali (Rawalpindi), Mohammad Shehzad (Multan), Mohammad Haris (Peshawar), Mohammad Huraira (Sialkot) and Mohammad Irfan Khan (Lahore), Rohail Nazir (captain), Abbas Afridi (Peshawar), Fahad Munir (Lahore) and Qasim Akram (Faisalabad), Amir Ali (Larkana) and Arish Ali Khan (Karachi), Amir Khan (Peshawar), Naseem Shah (Lahore) and Tahir Hussain (Multan).

The selection committee’s head found it difficult to rope in the best possible squad for the mega event. While talking to the media in Lahore, Saleem said that the players’ pool is too competitive and it is tough to select players.

“I know some of the players will be disappointed at not being picked, but it was a tough task as we had a pool of some very exciting and exceptionally talented players to choose from. I would encourage all the players who have missed out on selection to remain positive and motivated as I am confident there will be opportunities for them down the road,” he said.

“Criteria for selection was current performances and meritocracy, and I am pleased it was a consensus decision. These players have been performing up to our expectations and I am hopeful they will carry their good form into the series and produce solid performances,” he added.

It must be noted here that Pakistan is placed in Group C in the 16-teams event. They will play their opening game against Scotland on January 19. Their second match is against Zimbabwe on January 22 while the third and last contest is against Bangladesh on January 24.

The event is scheduled from January 17 to February 9.