PCB announce upgraded central contracts for women cricketers


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have fulfilled its promise to invest more in women’s cricket as on Tuesday they announced improved central contracts for women cricketers with an increase in players’ monthly salary.

The duration of the contract has also been increased from six months to 12 months. The A category of the contracts which includes Sana Mir and Nida Dar will now get the salary with an increase up to 20 percent.

The board has increased the salary up to 18.5 percent in B category which is comprised of Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Wadood, Nashra Sandhu, Sidra Ameen, and Sidra Nawaz while 18 percent in C category which contains Diana Baig and Nahida Khan.

It merits mentioning here that the contracts will commence from July 1.

On the other hand, the PCB have also announced PKR 10,000 as match fee for the players in domestic cricket. There will be an increase up to 100 percent in the daily allowance in domestic cricket while 50 percent on foreign tours.

The Managing Director of the PCB Wasim Khan vowed to keep on investing in women’s cricket to match their standards with men cricketers. “We are keen towards every category and our aim is to lift cricket in Pakistan. This upgraded central contracts will boost the confidence of the girls and they will put more efforts in the game,” he said in a statement, released by the PCB.

Chair of Pakistan women’s selection panel, Urooj Mumtaz, called upgraded central contracts as the reward of players’ improved performance in recent times.

“This step will definitely grow the confidence of the players and new girls will work more hard to find their place in the national team,” she said.

Pakistan women’s cricket team is currently participating in the ICC Women’s Championship. They have to finish in top-four in order to qualify directly in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021, scheduled from 30 January to 20 February in New Zealand.

In 2020, the women in green will compete in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The tournament is scheduled from 21 February to 8 March.