PCB give credit to Pindi crowd for successful Pakistan Cup


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) credited the enthusiastic and lively crowd of Pindi for taking the Pakistan Cup on next level.

Pakistan Cup, which ended on April 12 with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa lifting the coveted title, was attended by thousands of people at iconic Pindi Stadium. The PCB’s Director for Domestic Cricket also thanked the fans for supporting cricket.

“Fans are the strength of PCB, their support and love give depth in our determination to organise more cricketing events for cricket lovers,” said Haroon who attended Friday’s final.

Haroon acknowledged the tournament organizers and ground staff which took the tournament on a high level. He was quick to praise the teams who showcased quality cricket throughout the whole tournament.

“All teams were exceptional throughout and high scoring matches were icing on the cake and pulled attraction of cricket fraternity,” he said.

It is pertinent to mention here that KP reclaimed their title as they first won Pakistan Cup back in 2016. This year’s tournament saw high scoring matches as in overall 10 innings the teams had scored above 300 runs.

In individual performances with the bat, Khurram Manzoor once again proved himself a strong prospect in domestic cricket by scoring highest inning of 168 runs.

Right-handed batsman Umar Akmal named the highest run scorer of the tournament with 342 runs in five games. Umar was followed by Khushdil (316), Iftikhar (301) and Khurram (300).

On a strong pitch for batting in Pindi, bowlers had a bad time there but still, some of them bowled with good variations. KP’s Wahab Riaz claimed fifer once while bowlers took four-wicket haul for four times.

Wahab and Ammad Butt shared the best bowler of the tournament award for taking 10 wickets each.

All-rounder Hammad Azam made vital contributions for the Sindh outfit, his tally of 144 runs and nine wickets earned him the best all-rounder of the tournament award.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, apart from the glittering trophy, received a cheque of PKR2 million, while Balochistan, the losing finalists received PKR1 million. The best batsman, bowler, all-rounder, and player of the final collected PKR100,000 each.