PCB reveals local players’ categories for PSL 2020


Pakistan’s new T20I captain Babar Azam has been retained in the platinum category and heads the premium category for the upcoming fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

The platinum house contains seventeen players including prominent names Imad Wasim, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik.

Ahmed Shahzad, Haris Sohail, Asif Ali are placed in the Diamond category. The Gold category of the event features 23 cricketers including Awais Zia, Mohammad Husnain, Sohaib Maqsood, Rumman Raees, and Zafar Gohar.

Usama Mir, Agha Salman, Ghulam Mudassar, Ibtesam Sheikh and 23 more cricketers are in the Silver category. Emerging category’s list includes Nabi Gul, Umer Khan, Abrar Ahmed and six other local candidates.

According to the PCB, one representative from each of the six franchises voted for local player categories apart from their own team. Teams had a right to submit review requests at the end of this process.

PCB’s Head of Player Acquisition and Management Imran Ahmed Khan and newly appointed National Selection Coordinator Nadeem Khan then finalised the list.

The chief executive of the PCB, Wasim Khan, is confident to stage the upcoming whole season in the country after accomplishing the first step.

“With the completion of the category renewal process for the upcoming season of the PSL we have reached an important milestone. These are exciting times as we move closer and closer towards the 2020 season which will be a truly historic one as all 34 matches will be played in Pakistan,” he said in a statement released by the cricket board.

Moreover, it is decided that the franchises can only retain up to eight players from last year’s roaster.


It is pertinent to mention here that the draft for the upcoming edition of the PCB will be held either on November 20 or 22.