PCB requests Misbah to remain captain till 2018: report

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq.
“Misbah is calm, well-educated, calculative and balanced and enjoys a lot of respect in the team,” says PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan. (FILE PHOTO: AFP)
Shukriya Pakistan

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has requested Misbah-ul-Haq to continue leading the side in Tests till next year, a report published by Dawn said on Tuesday.

“Though Misbah is independent to decide about his future, [the board] has suggested him to continue till 2018,” PCB supremo Shaharyar Khan told the newspaper.

“Because of his excellent fitness, Misbah can easily play international cricket for few more years. Besides, he is calm, well-educated, calculative and balanced and enjoys a lot of respect in the team.”

The PCB chairman said they have thought over a couple of names who could replace Misbah but “need to analyse them in detail before taking any decision”.

“Both Azhar and Sarfraz Ahmed are good choices but the former’s batting suffers whenever he leads the side. All-rounder Imad Wasim can also be a candidate as he has impressed the PCB with his ability of handling pressure at crucial stages of matches,” Shaharyar said.

The development has come at a time when Pakistan failed to maintain their three-decade old winning streak against New Zealand.

Earlier today, New Zealand fast bowlers helped dismiss Pakistan for 230 and secure a 138-run victory on the final day of the second Test at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

The victory wrapped up the series 2-0 for Kane Williamson’s side, their first series victory over Pakistan since 1985, after they won the first match by eight wickets in Christchurch.

Pakistan had not lost a series since they were beaten 2-0 in Sri Lanka in August 2014, winning five and drawing two, which included one drawn series in England earlier this year that gave them the top Test ranking before India moved past them.

Pakistan team will now leave for Australia where they play the first of three Tests — a day-night affair in Brisbane — from December 15.

The remaining two Tests will be played in Melbourne (December 26-30) and Sydney (January 3-7). Pakistan will also play five one-day internationals in Australia.

— Additional input by AFP/Reuters