PHF announces 18 member squad for Asian Champions Trophy


The Pakistan hockey team’s selection committee headed by Islah-ud-din on Friday announced the 18-member squad for the Asian Champions Trophy.

The tournament will take place in Oman from October 18 to 28 where six teams including Oman, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, India and South Korea will compete to lift the trophy.

Rizwan senior will remain the captain while the other team members include Amad Shakeel Butt, Imran Butt, Mazhar Abbas, Irfan Senior, Aleem Bilal, Mubashir Ali, Tasawur Abbas, Tauseeq Arshad, Irfan Junior, Rizwan Junior, Umar Bhutta, Arsalan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ajaz Ahmed, Ateeq Arshad, Faisal Qadir, Abu Bakar Mahmood, and Mohammad Zubair.

The team management also announced seven reserved players in case of any mishap.

The chief selector Islah-ud-din said that the players and team management are on one page and all the news regarding the replacement of captain were baseless.

“We are focusing on our plans and want the betterment of hockey in the country,” he said.

Islah said that Pakistan hockey team is in a rebuilding process and gradually coming back to the right track.

“The things are coming right on the track and there is a long way for us to cover,” said Islah who hopes for a good performance of the team in the upcoming tournament.

Pakistan will play their first match on October 19 against South Korea.

The men in green lock horns with arch-rivals India on October 20 in a much-awaited contest of the tournament.